Home

What goes on in Idaho on a Friday night?  Wonder no further – I found out.

You see, it was “Friends IMG_0093and Family Night” at the C-A-L Ranch Store from 4-9 pm.  The wha?  Oh, only my new favorite store, ever.  It’s sort of a combination clothing/shoe/hat/pet/auto parts/hunting/gun/awesome stuff store.  I’m pretty sure I could do everything there but grocery shop.  During my visit, it became very clear that I am both an easterner and a city girl.  Because I’ve never seen a store like CAL and was nerd enough to take pictures as we walked the aisles…  Bless her heart, my aunt picked up two packages of hard candy for my grandfather so it actually appeared we were shopping instead of taking sneaky pictures of stuff in the aisles.  She wins as an excellent accomplice!

So, what did we find?  All sorts of strangeness and delight.  Remember when I keep classifying this move as an adventure?  It keeps delivering, almost daily.

Inside the front door is the "bragging board" and spot to post your photos.

Inside the front door is the “bragging board” and spot to post your photos.

Just inside the door is a display that made my eyes cross.  On the same rack - cow/steer toys, unicorn and glittery ponies, and then the family travel pieces.  I guess you could technically use the trailers and vehicles on the bottom to transport the cows or glittery equine creatures?

Just inside the door is a display that made my eyes cross. On the same rack – cow/steer toys, unicorn and glittery ponies, and then the family travel pieces. I guess you could technically use the trailers and vehicles on the bottom to transport the cows or glittery equine creatures?

You pick the version of cowboy hat, they definitely have it...

You pick the version of cowboy hat, they definitely have it…

No, that's not climbing gear...  Look closer.

No, that’s not climbing gear… Look closer.

Obviously, I'm from the city.  It never occurred to me that horse shoes come in various shapes and sizes...  Imelda Marcos probably knew.

Obviously, I’m from the city. It never occurred to me that horse shoes come in various shapes and sizes… Imelda Marcos probably knew.

Chickies!  You will notice, in my aunt's words, "Idaho embraces diversity - the chicks all mix together, sort of".

Chickies! You will notice that, in my aunt’s words, “Idaho embraces diversity – the chicks all mix together, sort of”.

There is a guns and ammo section with a healthy dose of camo.  Also, giant heads mounted on the wall...

There is a guns and ammo section with a healthy dose of camo. Also, giant heads mounted on the wall…

I wasn't sure where to focus - the giant moose on the wall, or the cute pink guns on the rack...

I wasn’t sure where to focus – the giant moose on the wall, or the cute pink guns on the rack…

Needless to say, the gentleman waiting at the counter in front of me was likely getting curious about why some girl was taking pictures of the hunting section.  So, I fled.  Totally surprised I didn’t get kicked out of the store sooner, but I’m glad they didn’t fuss at me – lots of education and now i know where i can go if i ever need clothing/shoe/hat/pet/auto parts/hunting/gun/awesome stuff…  And the folks in the C-A-L seemed tolerant, even though we were neither their friends nor their family.  Win!

2 thoughts on “Friends & Family Night = Awesomeness

  1. Pingback: A Museum with 3 Names and Signs Around Town | Sweet Tea & Potatoes

Leave a Reply

