Home

My aunt came home from work this afternoon and said that we ought to take a drive around town…

They mean it's a "Community Table" dinner and BBQ.  And that's not the right name of the museum.

They mean it’s a “Community Table” dinner and BBQ picnic. And that’s not the right name of the museum.

See, from the house, she goes south to work in a whole other town (I will go north to work in a whole other town – I have a feeling the Yankee/Southerner jokes are merely weeks away from beginning).  Always up for anything new and interesting I hopped in the car with my camera.  She promised good times and certainly delivered.  After our outing to C-A-L (aka, my new favorite store), we took a spin around to some of the sights and landmarks…  So, welcome to small town Idaho – where I waffle between feeling like a foreign exchange student and feeling like I’m totally at home.  I’m loving it more every day!!

First up, I should mention the Idaho Potato Museum (that masquerades as the “Idaho Potato Expo” in older pamphlets or “Idaho’s World Potato Museum” on a sign like 30 yards away).  It’s a converted train depot that promises “free taters for out of staters”…  I’ve been there before, but for the purposes of this tour, we felt it was necessary to include pictures.  Their brochure encourages you to “see antique machinery, the world’s largest potato chip, and more”.  And if you go into the gift shop there’s t-shirts, dolls, hats, and of course candy made from potatoes and chocolate.  (No, it’s really not yummy.  At all.)  Fancy, right?  I’d say that deserves three different names and a visit…  Spring Break, anyone?

It's actually a cool re-purposing of an old building...  Also, the logo has a crown.

It’s actually a cool re-purposing of an old building… Also, the logo has added a crown since I was last here.  It’s moving up in the world!

Yes, that is a giant potato outside with butter and sour cream...

Yes, that is a giant potato outside with butter and sour cream…

Moving along down the road, we run into a shop that apparently has The Best Cinnamon Rolls in town: Martha’s Cafe.  Somehow, I totally didn’t notice Martha on the way into town when I arrived – I think I was more focused on getting the turns right and finally getting to my aunt’s house after 4 days in the car…  She’s a beaut, but I have yet to taste her baking – I’ll keep you posted on how good she really is.

I think i found the mother of the Big Boy restaurant sign guys....

I think I found the mother of the Big Boy restaurant sign guys….

Check that sassy pose!  But, careful boys - Martha's taken!  Look at the rock on that left hand!!

Check that sassy pose! But, careful boys – Martha’s taken! Look at the rock on that left hand!!

We continued around town to some places I already knew I needed pictures of, and some I’d not seen yet…

The Bingham County Historical Society.  So official, three days a week.  <3

The Bingham County Historical Society. So official, three days a week. ❤

My aunt thinks it's ridiculous, but I smile every time I drive past the "Wash a Go Go"...

My aunt thinks it’s ridiculous, but I smile every time I drive past the “Wash a Go Go”…  Sorry for the spots – took this pic at the stoplight and my windshield probably needs a wash a go go!

Best gas station name?  I mean, WHO picks a skunk as their mascot/logo?  "Buy gas here, I promise it's really smelly..."

Best/worst gas station name? I mean, WHO picks a skunk as their mascot/logo? “Buy gas here, I promise it’s really smelly…”

If you need guns, ammo, reloading, antiques, or glass work done, I know where to send you...

If you need guns, ammo, reloading, antiques, or glass work done, I know where to send you…

One thought on “A Museum with 3 Names and Signs Around Town

Leave a Reply

