Home

There are two things that have stopped me in my tracks since I’ve been here.  The first is the scenery.  I hope I never take for granted the absolutely gorgeous world around me here.  I’ve exchanged power lines and strip malls and concrete for wide open spaces and a completely new skyline.  Every time I walk outside or go for a car ride, I’m taken aback at the contrast in really really good ways!  I could seriously love this place…

The View from the front of the house.  I live in a calendar picture!  And this is on a sort-of cloudy day!

The View from the front of the house. I live in a calendar picture! And this is on a sort-of cloudy day!

There are horse breeders in the neighborhood, and some really pretty ones out by the mailbox today!

There are horse breeders in the neighborhood, and some really pretty ones out by the mailbox today!

The view at the end of the drive before the main road...

The view at the end of the drive before the main road…

The view at the end of the main drive, just turned a little more!

The view at the end of the main drive, just turned a little more!

IMG_0039

The other thing that gave me pause made me giggle and just about lose it.  Every time I drive past one, I can’t not smile.  What is it?  Well, remembering that eastern Idaho has been sold to me as “pretty, but oh man that snow!”…  There is a chain of fast food here called the “Arctic Circle”.  I mean, really?!?  Because people here don’t get enough of the snow, they need to be reminded of it year-round?  We couldn’t have gone with a luau or oasis theme? You need to use bad geography to taunt the residents of this area about how cold it is?  Come on!  We are thousands of miles from the real Arctic Circle.  Besides, if you’re so proud of being Arctic, keep the milkshakes, but serve real Arctic foods.

IMG_0038But the best part is the little “Snow Shack” huts set up in a few places to sell snow cones.  Because, again, people here don’t get enough snow in the winter?  This one is in a parking lot adjacent to an “Arctic Circle” in the town just north of us…  Please note the extension cord out the back that goes to the ice machine in the parking lot.  It’s like – hey!  Here’s a reminder that it may be summer and you may enjoy the weather now, but it’s going to suck soon, so here’s your snack.  Just in case the Arctic Circle was a little too intimidating for you, why not try a snow cone?  Pay no attention to the fact that our “shack” isn’t big enough to hold the ice for the snow cones.  Just appreciate our tiny tiny building and get your dose of snow in the summer…  Because you know you really miss it.

Leave a Reply

